One Year Older…

October 12th was my birthday… Yay!

And before you start counting on your fingers and toes to figure out just how old I am, the answer is…

26.

I KNOW. WAH-WAH, poor baby! Another spoiled little 20-something on here to whine about how cruel life has been for the last 15 minutes of my life. 😉 Don’t worry folks, you won’t get that here (but after a few glasses of wine? Maaaaybeee…)

Although, I will admit that it’s a little painful to watch one more year go by and realizing that nothing has worked out the way it was supposed to be (you know, according to the 6-year-old me who knew that I would be a mermaid/princess/movie star by now!) Geez, I am such a letdown when I think of it like that… 😉

It has been a pretty awesome weekend, though. We had some friends over on Friday for wine, pizza, wine, cupcakes, and wine. Oh, and we had some wine, too! Don’t give me that look, everyone knows you get to have wine and cake on your birthday! I fully accept responsibility for any damage I might have done to my liver  weight loss efforts. Back on the wagon Monday, people! 😉

Saturday, we decided to wander downtown to the farmer’s market they hold every weekend by the river. I was like a kid in a candy store, perusing the arts and crafts, colorful produce, fresh homemade pastas and artisan breads, gourmet salsas and sauces… Oh my goodness! It was a beautifully sunny day made even better by a guitarist strumming away on a stage right by the water. It was a nice, relaxing way to ease into the second half of my twenties.

AND CHECK OUT MY HAUL:

 Image

Ok, so it could have been worse. A lot worse, but I was pretty excited about it anyway! When we found a little pepper stand, I let the husband go a little nuts and he just had to have some habaneros. He’s a sucker for spicy things! I’m still not sure what I’m going to do with all of these peppers, but I’m thinking now is a good time to break out the food processor and give homemade salsa a whirl. Who amongst you is brave enough to be my guinea pig?!

But hands off the eggplant. I’ve got plans for that little guy. BIG PLANS. 

AND HOW CUTE IS THE LITTLE BEAR OF HONEY. I HAD TO HAVE HIM.

Not pictured: the little baggy of doggy treats we got for donating to a retired Greyhound shelter. Kairi is quite pleased with them. (Oh, she recently had a birthday too! My big baby turned two on the 8th!)

Afterwards, we had lunch at one of the “forbidden restaurants” that I normally have to avoid because there’s simply no way in hell I can behave when they keep bringing out those fresh breadsticks… Our waitress was a complete sweetheart and overheard us mentioning that it was a birthday so she sang to me. And I don’t mean one of those annoying drag-everyone-out-of-the-kitchen-for-a *clapclapclapHAPPYHAPPYBIRTHDAYwehatedoingthisandweknowyouknowwedo* songs, just a simple little happy birthday tune. It was really nice of her, I thought. 🙂

So, the husband spoiled me about as far as I would let him. (Hey, military budget, remember?) It was nice to just relax and enjoy the day, not calculating every calorie or worrying about my crappy doctor or anything like that. We got to allow ourselves a distraction from the stresses in our lives and have some fun together. I am definitely going to make sure we have a day like that every now and then, and this is me gently encouraging you to do the same with your special someones, whether its to celebrate a birthday OR just to celebrate each other. Okay, enough of that sentimental stuff before it gets too warm and fuzzy in here…

And the icing on the cake (haha!) was coming back to the bloggy world and finding out that ACalmPersistance has nominated me for The Sunshine Award, which really made me smile because it was just so sweet of her. (I’ll give you three guesses what my next post is going to be!) She is celebrating a birthday this weekend too, so you should totally hop over to her blog and give her a big hug! Go ahead, you’re not going to miss anything here, I’m just going to wrap this up and then go play some XBox or something! ;P

So, while I spend what is left of this weekend crashing down from my epic sugar rush, I look forward to catching up on how the rest of you are doing. And I hope there are no hard feelings because I wasn’t able to invite you all over for cake (and wine?) Just know that if I could have, I would have, because you ladies are rock stars and I’ve really enjoyed getting to know you over the last few weeks. ;D

Stay strong!

9 thoughts on “One Year Older…

  1. Yay! Happy birthday lovie! Im glad you enjoyed. I second with your hubby. Ive become recently OBSESSED with jalapenos they must go in everything. My eggs, pasta, tuna salad. I think a little spicy kick is good for your metabolism 😉

    • Thank you! And you’re right, peppers are supposed to be good at kicking up your metabolism so I try to add heat when I can. But you and my hubby must be especially brave. I’m pretty wimpy when it comes to peppers, haha… 😉

Leave a Reply

