Brace yourself… (and a bonus TMT!)

A new facebook game is tearing through your newsfeed. And if you haven’t seen it yet, you probably will soon…

I try very hard not to see the fertile world as if I am standing on the other side of a rift with no chance in hell of ever being able to cross. I’ll also admit that there’s some envy  involved when I learn that a new baby is on the way, which is natural, right? I felt this little pinch of jealousy even before my husband and I were serious about having kids of our own.

I absolutely love babies, I love pregnancy, I love many people who have babies and are/were at some point pregnant. And that news will ALWAYS be good news to me, but…

This is a lot of baby stuff. And I have a complicated relationship with baby stuff. (Gasp! Shocking!)

One by one, the mommies on facebook are posting lists of facts about their pregnancies, and because I just can’t help myself, I read every single one because I’m creepy and lifeless like that. By the time I get to the bottom of the list, I am this weird combination of fascinated, envious, angry, and sad. “Like for a number!”

I’ll sit this one out for so many reasons…

And if you’re giving me one of those looks for choosing to write about this, YES I KNOW it’s just a silly little game and clearly it isn’t part of a universal plot to make me feel like someone is raking my nerves against a cheese grater. They’re being normal, friendly, social creatures and sharing a beautiful part of their lives. It’s natural, I guess. I wouldn’t know much about what it’s like to be normal but I do my best to go along with it, smiling and nodding in all the (hopefully) right places.

I just wanted to whine about it while I get ready to torture myself with the next wave of predictably adorable pregnancy quirks. Why do I do this to myself. 😦

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE!

We have a game of our own, remember? That’s Me Thursdays! (I would link to the original post here but I’m updating from my phone today and I don’t want to push my luck.) Basically, post three interesting/funny/weird facts about yourself as a reminder that there’s more to us than just the whining-about-baby-stuff stuff. 

1) Proud Slytherin here, and no that doesn’t mean I’m evil. It means that if you mess with my friends or family I will viciously destroy you and probably enjoy it a bit too much. Oh, and I’m willing to do whatever is necessary to get the things I want, which I believe will come in handy for the road ahead. ;P (Although, I suppose being a true Slytherin would make me a witch and I would therefore have magic on my side and wouldn’t need doctors at all... hmm... Accio baby!) ;P

2) Let’s just get all geeky up in here today. My husband and I got married on June 26, 2010 and therefore share our anniversary with Amy and Rory Williams (*coughPondcough*). We weren’t even fans of Doctor Who at the time so it’s just an awesome coincidence.

3) Ok, fine, let’s just finish this off right. Our Christmas tree is decorated with a few pokemon, Hedwig, a Creeper from Minecraft, an Angry Bird, Hello Kitty, a glass Xbox controller ornament and over a dozen Star Wars candy canes, and soon there will be a TARDIS tucked in there too. No, we will never grow up and you can’t make us. πŸ˜‰

11 thoughts on “Brace yourself… (and a bonus TMT!)

  1. I am SO THANKFUL this hasn’t come to my facebook yet. I hope it doesn’t. The baby posts and announcements are hard enough! I might have to start “That’s Me Thursday” – although I already posted today. Hmmm πŸ™‚

  2. I haven’t seen that game yet and I don’t think I want to.
    We can always start the infertility game. Post a list of all the things you’ve been through to try to get pregnant. THAT would make people uncomfortable.

Leave a Reply

